4. Revisiting the Georgetown Agreement: Comparative Regionbuilding in Africa, the Caribbean, and the Pacific

Bridgetown, Barbados
Date of publication: May 2019

The 1975 Georgetown Agreement established the African, Caribbean, and Pacific (ACP) Group of States. The Group comprises Cuba and the 78 African (48), Caribbean (15), and Pacific (15) countries which are signatories to the Cotonou Agreement, an accord between the ACP and the European Union (EU) signed in 2000. 

In a bid to contribute to region-building efforts in Africa, the Caribbean, and the Pacific; to revisit the Georgetown Agreement; and to examine the post-Cotonou negotiations, the ACP secretariat in Brussels, Belgium; CARICOM in Georgetown, Guyana; and the Institute for Pan-African Thought and Conversation (IPATC) at the University of Johannesburg in South Africa, in collaboration with the Shridath Ramphal Centre at the University of the West Indies (UWI), held a two-day High-Level Consultation in Barbados on 26 and 27 March 2019, titled “Revisiting the Georgetown Agreement: Comparative Region-Building in Africa, the Caribbean, and the Pacific”. About 35 diplomats, scholars, and civil society actors across the three regions discussed carefully selected topics over the two days around five broad themes: Region-Building in the Caribbean; Continental Regionalism: The African Union (AU); Regionalism in West, East, and Southern Africa; Regionalism in the Pacific; and Regionalism and the Future of ACP-EU Relations. This report is based on discussions at the meeting, as well as the conference concept paper.

Download PDF for further information:

English (1.6MB)

French (1.6MB)